PDA

View Full Version : Hi Roh!

Bender Rodriguez
05-05-2009, 5:28 PM
Just want to say hello to everyone and to introduce myself. I'm kind of new to guns... I have handled and fired firearms a couple times when I was younger, mainly shooting clay pigeons. Of course those guns did not belong to me and I did not grow up with guns in my household.

Some of my friends are into assault rifles and they showed me few of their rifles recently and now I want one lol. Originally I just wanted a hand gun or a shot gun for home protection, but since the talks about banning rifles or whatever keeps coming up I feel pressured to get a rifle first. I do not want an AR off the shelf. I have been told to first purchase the lower, so that if there is a ban on assault rifles then I would be okay because of the Grandfather clause.

I also want to learn about firearms, so that I have a far better respect for them besides knowing it can kill. "Boston's Gun Bible" is a book that was suggested to me. I was told it is kind of like a Guns for Dummies manual. What do you guys think?

Well I hope to learn a lot from this board and hopefully make a few friends.

Manong0369
05-05-2009, 6:34 PM
Welcome aboard. You came to the right place to learn about weapons. Personally, I think "assault rifle" is a misnomer. Anyways, have fun and enjoy your stay. Here is some posts that will give you a head start.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=78606

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=56818

Turbinator
05-06-2009, 8:44 AM
Yeah, leave the term "assault rifle" for the media and the anti's. All you're looking into buying is a legal, semi auto rifle for sport and recreation.

A good book as many have pointed out before is "How to own a gun and stay out of jail - CA edition." Look for that, it's sold at many gun stores, and it covers a number of legal and safety aspects.