PDA

View Full Version : Rookie going to try some handguns, want some recomendations.

FordGabe
05-04-2009, 4:56 PM
Hey guys. I'm going to head to Target Masters in Milpitas to try some handguns. I'm still pretty new to firearms, and have mostly just tried various rifles and shotguns, as well as my ruger 10/22. I'd like to try out a couple hand guns, and was looking for a couple recommendations on what to try out, because it's something I would like to invest in within the year. I have a fancy for revolvers, but obviously don't have much experience with different models - I've shot a .22 ruger pistol, a 9 mm pistol and a .45 Glock. Pointers appreciated! Thanks

Ishoot
05-04-2009, 5:04 PM
Try a 1911, Kimber or a Springfield. Great guns that's affordable (kind of :))with a lot of aftermarket parts if you feel the need to tune em.

Miltiades
05-04-2009, 5:11 PM
I have a fancy for revolvers, but obviously don't have much experience with different models.

The primary US revolver manufacturers now are Smith & Wesson and Ruger. Colt is pretty much out of it. I'd recommend starting with something in .357 magnum, shooting .38 special ammo. A 4 or 6 inch barrel is easiest to shoot. For the S&W the model 686 is very good. In Ruger the GP100 is the corresponding gun. If you want a thrill you can try the full magnum ammo later.

Gator Monroe
05-04-2009, 5:13 PM
Ruger Mk 1 standard, Glock 17 Gen 1 or early Gen 2

loosewreck
05-04-2009, 5:17 PM
Yeah, 1911 and full size .357 revolver, also high end euros like HK or Sig.

Sam
05-04-2009, 5:31 PM
Try a 1911, Kimber or a Springfield. Great guns that's affordable (kind of :))with a lot of aftermarket parts if you feel the need to tune em.

I agree.

Z ME FLY
05-04-2009, 7:36 PM