PDA

View Full Version : Ordering pistol with high cap mag out of state?

chrisr
05-01-2009, 3:46 PM
Im a security officer with a law enforcement agency in CA, so im a public officer instead of sworn officer. Anyway Ive been looking for a particular pistol to have sent to my FFL in the city where I live .Gun dealers and gun stores dont sell these pistols in CA, but they can be purchased in other states and made CA compliant provided the pistol has a bullet button and 10 round fixed mag kinda like the ARs.

I found the pistol im looking for in another state with non bullet button and a high cap magazine included. My FFL and I contacted them and they werent sure if it was legal to send this pistol to CA along with the high cap mag. We explained to them that it would have to be shipped with pistol grip removed and the high cap mag dissassembled like a parts mag kit. When my FFL receives the pistol a bullet button would have to be installed along with a 10 round mag. I will just keep the high cap mag as a parts kit.

The gun dealer is on board now providing that I fax him my dept. id stating that I work for a law enforcement agency. I definately do, Im not a sworn officer from an academy, but i have extensive training through the dept. I carry a gun on duty, I do have limited arrest powers while on duty.

Im assuming the gun dealer thinks im a cop with a law enforcement agency. Would it be wrong to fax my dept id that states im a security officer with a law enforcement agency. The transaction would be legal providing the grip is removed and the mag is dissassembled. The pistol would be made CA compliant as soon as it arrived in CA. If the gun dealer does accept my credentials and sends the pistol to my FFL do you think this could bite me in the butt later? Sorry, Thanks for reading this long post

yzernie
05-01-2009, 7:54 PM
You have arrest powers but never said if you are PC832. That could make a HUGE difference.

chrisr
05-01-2009, 8:07 PM