PDA

View Full Version : Treaties and The Constitution

Dirtbozz
04-26-2009, 8:01 PM
I read something in another thread on this forum that stated it was a "myth" that a treaty signed by our president could take our gun rights away.

The United States Constitution states the following:

Article VI, paragraph 2;

“This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which shall be made Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties made, or which shall be made, under the Authority of the United States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the Constitution notwithstanding.”

I’m no lawyer, but this seems to say that if Obama signs the UN gun ban treaty and the Senate ratifies it, our guns are gone. :mad:

Please tell me that I am wrong. Educate me.

cortayack
04-26-2009, 8:20 PM
All civil magistrates are bound by oath to abide by the U.S. Constitution, and nowhere in the U.S. Constitution is any authority given for these United States to be subject to and bound by any earthly piece of paper that abrogates or is alien to the Constitution of the United States. As a matter of fact, Article VI, paragraph 2, the latter half of which is quoted at the outset above, in its first half, says only three pronouncements are "the supreme Law of the Land":

(1) "THIS [the U.S.] Constitution," (2) "the Laws of the United States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof" (i.e., as permitted by, in conformity with, and to implement this Constitution), and (3) "all treaties made....under the Authority of the United States" ("under" designates that treaties are not over, not above, and not even equal to the authority of the United States granted to it by the States via the U.S. Constitution - but remain under, inferior to its jurisdiction).