PDA

View Full Version : A Primer on Online Media

mister dize
04-25-2009, 10:45 PM
I've held off on saying anything about this for a while, but Calguns does love to post about anti-gun pieces in the media. I think it is useful to know how the online media works, especially here. I am a professional writer in the technology beat, but what I am about to tell you applies to all online media, and some of it to print media.

Writers get paid by the word.

The average is around 50 cents for online media, sometimes as high as $3 for publications like the New York Times or the Wall Street Journal. Because of this, writers, for the most part, are just cranking stuff out. We don't have a complex plan that we're following to push an agenda. We come up with an idea we think will sell, pitch it to our editor, and if he says yes, we write it. When you see an anti-gun piece in the New York Times, it's not because NYT is launching a big PR campaign against guns. Some writer is short on topics, and pulled an evergreen out of his desk.

Many publications pay pageview bonuses.

This is why we write about controversial topics. While not all publications pay this bonus, your value as a writer is measured by the online page views you bring in. When you post a link to an anti-gun article on Calguns, you are putting money in the writer's pocket. Also, publications count comments as pageviews, and sometimes more than once, if you have to click to page separate from the article to read and post comments. If you post a comment on an article expressing your disagreement with the author, not only will that author get paid for you reading the article, but also for you responding to it!

Editors have a lot of control over what gets printed.