PDA

View Full Version : My Nordyke Analogy

RomanDad
04-24-2009, 9:08 AM
My Nordyke Analogy:

As some of you may know, I'm an attorney.

My general practice area is Entertainment law. Some of you may ask, What does this guy know about 2nd Amendment law?

Entertainment law deals quite a bit with the 1st Amendment, and as the Court in Heller suggested and the 9th circuit confirmed, the extensive body of 1st Amendment law will be a roadmap for the newly confirmed rights of the 2nd Amendment. Besides this fact, Constitutional law, and particularly the 2nd Amendment has been a sort of “hobby” of mine since well before I went to law school over a decade ago now....

So I’ve been struggling for the last few days with some of the posts and comments I’ve read and heard regarding the importance and effect of Nordyke.

And the analogy that keeps popping up for me is one from the entertainment world. Specifically, the world of Professional Wrestling.

By chance, I grew up with some people closely associated with the Pro Wrestling industry. So I know the business a little better than most. But anybody who has ever watched a Pro Wrestling tag team match will recognize that there is a basic script to each event. And I find that script to be particularly helpful for the lay person to understand what has happened this week.

The Players:

The Bad Guys or “Heels” as they are known in the language of Pro Wrestling: They are BIG, Strong, Powerful, Nasty, UGLY and most importantly, they CHEAT!: In our case, this is the tag team of the gun-control lobby groups (Brady et al) and their allies in the state and federal legislatures.