PDA

View Full Version : Ammo is part of "To Bear Arms"

Spaniard
04-21-2009, 11:30 AM
A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the People to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.

I read how some people (some on this forum and abroad) are saying the Bill of Rights (2A) says nothing about Ammunition it only says to protect Arms/Guns. The effects of the 2nd Ammendment "to keep and bear arms" does include ammunition, by exact word no, by effect yes. What else does "ARMS" mean?

I am not a lawyer and don't pretend to be one, however did the founding fathers need to explain word for word what "ARMS" meant? They were more intelligent than that.

If that was the case, then why didn't the Founding Fathers say for the First Ammendment what tools or effects could be used with the freedom of speech.

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

It isn't written in the First Ammendment that the freedom of the press is free to print but the ink has to be regulated. Or that a website can be used to voice your discontent. I mean ammo to a firearm is like electricity to a PC/TV, without it, both are useless.

Susan Sarandon once said and I paraphrase here: "The Founding Fathers had muskets, so I think the current gun owners should use muskets". Well one could take that argument and say the founding fathers never envisioned the internet, satellite communications or cell phones all used for communications and can be used and are used to voice discontent. And I believe muskets were farther back, the Founding Fathers had weapons that were state of art for the day.