PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Expert Witness in Criminal Defense

brianmayer
04-16-2009, 4:36 PM
Greetings calguns members:

Expert Witness Needed

I am an attorney representing a juvenile in a criminal defense case in the greater Sacramento, California area. The prosecution alleges that the juvenile emptied the smokeless powder from three shotgun shells, took a firecracker with 25mg black powder for a wick, and stuck it all cardboard tube 2" long and 1/2" diameter. The prosecutor is calling it a "destructive device" and/or "explosive" within the meaning of California Penal Code Sec. 12303.2.

I am hoping that someone here could either help out, or could refer me to someone who could help.

Requirements

I have been looking for someone with sufficient expertise in munitions and/or chemistry who can describe just how "destructive" and/or explosive this device would be. They would need to be familiar with how shotgun ammunition is put together, and be able to discuss things like burn rate, gas expulsion, heat expulsion, etc. I would anticipate that the ideal candidate would have a Chemistry background, but that is definitely not absolute.

I have had tremendous difficulting finding someone with the requisite expertise and would consider someone who has no prior experience as an expert witnesses. Someone located in Northern California would be ideal, but I would consider flying in the right person from Southern California, or Nevada.

Challenges

We have a very short time frame. The prosecution, in my opinion, has no case and I believe the juvenile has an excellent chance of acquital, but I will need someone who is competent to refute their quack expert (he has opined that the "device" could "blow your arm off").

Compensation