PDA

View Full Version : CA legal Uzi clones?

Flogger23m
04-14-2009, 5:31 PM
Does anyone still make Uzi clones? It looks like an interesting gun to get if there would be an off list CA legal version.

Would an MMG work with the fixed stock?

http://www.geocities.com/commandervarun/smallarms/Uzis.jpg

I have never used an Uzi before, so I don't know if an MMG style grip would interfere with the controls. It looks like an MMG can be fitted so that it does not get in the way of the safety, but what about the mag release button?

Would anyone else be interested in getting an off list Uzi clone, or am I the only one? :p

dmckean44
04-14-2009, 5:50 PM
The magazine goes straight through the pistol grip. A MMG would not work.

Flogger23m
04-14-2009, 6:34 PM
The magazine goes straight through the pistol grip. A MMG would not work.

So if a mag goes into the pistol grip, that means it is a pistol grip, even if it does not allow a "pistol style grasp" or sticks out? Thanks for the info, I did not know that. I thought it was only considered pistol grip if it allowed a "pistol style grasp".

Well, looks like an off list MMG Uzi clone is out of the question. :(

Sicarius
04-14-2009, 6:37 PM
I have seen people get ahold of the norinco wood stock and fill the thumb hole...
Kevin

Josh3239
04-14-2009, 6:37 PM
It has been done with the filled in thumbhole stock. Though you would need a permanent barrel extention or you'll end up with an SBR.

Flogger23m
04-14-2009, 7:02 PM
It has been done with the filled in thumbhole stock. Though you would need a permanent barrel extention or you'll end up with an SBR.

While a small pic, I was thinking of something like this (notice extended barrel):

https://www.mainemilitary.com/productcart/pc/catalog/uzipolyfxt.jpg

But with an MMG. But if an MMG type grip is not legal, then the only way to make it legal would be a bullet button type thing, correct?

Can you post a link to the filled thumbhole stock? If you can't find a pic, it is no big deal.