PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 vs. AR-10 Question

Odin
04-11-2009, 8:34 PM
I am new to the OLL game (just building up my first 2 5.56 lowers thanks to calguns) and I have been wondering, why is it that AR-15 stripped lowers go for anywhere from $109-250 while AR-10 lowers are $350-500. As far as I know they are manufactured using the same process (I may be wrong) and logistically it seems that there is only 15% more material so shouldn't they be only 15% more expensive? Is it that they are in low supply so the price is inflated to meet demand? Are they normally 200% more expensive or is this because of the rush on guns right now?
:confused:
Straighten me out calgunners!

C.G.
04-11-2009, 8:37 PM
Lack of standardization and not as many AR-10s/.308s made as AR-15s, therefore the production cost is higher and is passed onto the consumer.

RomanDad
04-11-2009, 8:38 PM
I am new to the OLL game (just building up my first 2 5.56 lowers thanks to calguns) and I have been wondering, why is it that AR-15 stripped lowers go for anywhere from $109-250 while AR-10 lowers are $350-500. As far as I know they are manufactured using the same process (I may be wrong) and logistically it seems that there is only 15% more material so shouldn't they be only 15% more expensive? Is it that they are in low supply so the price is inflated to meet demand? Are they normally 200% more expensive or is this because of the rush on guns right now?
:confused:
Straighten me out calgunners!

There's the same amount of metal in a Porsche as a Ford too....

Odin
04-11-2009, 9:31 PM
There's the same amount of metal in a Porsche as a Ford too....
I wouldn't say that is even close to to same. Lowers don't even have moving parts, let alone thousands of intricate pieces to upgrade or not.

Tragic Image
04-11-2009, 9:39 PM
I wouldn't say that is even close to to same. Lowers don't even have moving parts, let alone thousands of intricate pieces to upgrade or not.