PDA

View Full Version : Calguns threads are often a "training environment"

GaffSD
04-09-2009, 11:04 PM
All,

I'm starting this thread so that no one gets the wrong idea about specific people, threads or what have you.

I think that we have a responsibility to educate the general public to enhance our cause. My comments apply to posts here, questions that you get at the range, from co-workers, liberals, cops, marxists... Well, pretty much anyone that you decide not to shoot at.

Anyway, that being said, I learned MOST of my gun law from this site. I CAN NOT BE MORE GRATEFUL TO THE CALGUNS COMMUNITY. You have all made my family, community, state and country safer because I am better armed.

A little background: I was a military trainer. I trained people in matters of life and death... Situations where a failure could result in the death of you and 500 of your closest friends. Weapons and tactics both. Serious stuff.

I've seen many of these concepts in action.

Well... As a trainer (A combat systems trainer on a destroyer, a weapons handling trainer and an under sea warfare weapons and tactics instructor), I won't say I never raised my voice at a trainee. I will say, however, that when I did, I was wrong.

I was a senior Navy enlisted man. I knew how to yell. And When. When somebody was trained and signed off on a subject, and they failed to PREFORM to standards, the volume went up.

When a trainee asked a question, and I got some truly (I can say this now) STUPID questions, I would enthusiastically answer with something like "I'm glad you asked that!" Then change my approach until the training standard was met.

When someone asks a question on this forum, It's a great time to use the "I'm glad you asked that!" tact, or "I once wondered that myself" (because YOU didn't know it at one point...).

When someone comes out with a statement of OPINION, IE, is making a statement that others might think is fact... Fire away. That's called debate.