PDA

View Full Version : Rules re: PTP?

Jason762
04-05-2009, 9:32 AM
What are the rules regarding a person to person transfer (is that what it's called) in a state where legally allowed?

In Alaska, I could sell, buy, trade any firearm (as long as there wasn't a required $200 tax stamp on it) legally to any other person as long as they were:

1) Over 18 (or 21 for handguns)
2) An Alaskan resident
3) A non-felon

Is this the same in other states? I know it's not in CA, IL, NY.

I.E. a guy wants to trade a Glock 21 for a 1911 in Nevada. I'm an Alaskan resident who has a 1911 that wants a Glock.

Can I legally go to NV, give him my 1911 for his Glock? Or do I only have this right in Alaska?

Thanks
Jason

DDT
04-05-2009, 9:42 AM
Man, you've gone from the state with the best firearms laws to the state with the worst.

Actually Federal law, this time, is the problem. Federal Law requires the use of an FFL for interestate handgun transfers. Federal law also requires that you follow the laws of your state of residence on any interstate long arm transfer. This means there are NO transfers in the state of California without an FFL other than guns 50 years old or older OR if it is an Operation of Law transfer. OpLaw transfers are essentially bequests and grandpaerent, parent, child transfers (not sibling.)

Vin496
04-05-2009, 9:46 AM
FTF(Face to Face) sales are allowed in many States, but both parties must be residents of the same State.

Federal Law requires that all gun transactions between States, go through an FFL of the buyer's state.

There are long guns exceptions, many States will allow rifle sales to residents of neighboring States. This is allowed only if both States allow this.

So for example a resident from Arizona is in Nevada and want to buy a shotgun, he can. A resident from California is in Nevada and wants to buy a shotgun, no can do, as California does not allow it.

Jason762
04-05-2009, 10:02 AM