PDA

View Full Version : building AR-15 questions

USMC-0321
04-03-2009, 6:59 PM
Ok so I'm sure you guys get these questions all the time, but it's hard to find answers. I did an online search i attempt to find cal laws. Maybe I'm a retard, but the stuff is hard to find because you have to sift through all kinds of stuff, and still then I didn't learn everything I wanted to know.

Ok so what are the CA laws as far as what I can build/have here?

I know barrel length is 16 inches or more, and mag's have to be 10 round or less.

Compensators?
Pistol grips?
fixed or semi fixed mag realease?

what else should I know?

When I'm buying parts, what do I have to fill out a dros on?

Also what if any documentation should I carry on me when transporting?

I'm a vet, and I have my reserve ID, but I know that it really doesn'y change anything, just shows the police, I'm not some crazy yahoo....wait a minute....ok but you get the point.

Also what new fun and exciting laws can we expect to come next?

Thanks for any information you guys can share with me, I would really love to have betsy back, but are colts even allowed here?

Anyway thanks in advance,

Andy

ad6mj
04-03-2009, 7:08 PM
welcome and thanks for your service. This link has some good info dor starters:
http://www.tenpercentfirearms.com/index.php?main_page=ar15

yellowfin
04-03-2009, 7:26 PM
Bullet button for the mag release, 10 round mag, 16" or longer, and no happy switch or cans. Colts are on the list, so no good. For a good lower I'd go with Anvil Arms.

ad6mj
04-03-2009, 7:38 PM
Bullet button for the mag release, 10 round mag, 16" or longer, and no happy switch or cans.
Or, featureless standard mag release and any legally possessed magazine.

DDT
04-03-2009, 8:05 PM
Or, featureless standard mag release and any legally possessed magazine.