PDA

View Full Version : Switchblade/LEO question

RANGER295
04-01-2009, 11:11 AM
As far as I can tell, there is no exemption for LEO’s to PC.653K. Is this true? I looked through other sections of PC that deal with dangerous weapons and so fourth but did not see anything there either that would indicate an exemption that would allow a LEO to carry a switchblade/automatic knife with a blade 2” or longer on or off duty.

This question came up during a discussion with an off duty LEO. We were at a social event and in trying to make chit chat, I asked him what kind of knife he was carrying. He proudly pulled it out, pushed a button on the side and the blade snapped out. The blade was longer than my Kershaw with a 3.25” blade… I would guess about 3.75”-4”. I asked him if that was legal. He replied, “Probably not but they won’t do anything because I am a cop.” Is it legal or not? If there is one thing I hate, it is LEO’s that think they are above the law.