PDA

View Full Version : Reserve LEO Question

escon1
03-17-2009, 7:24 PM
I have been considering applying for a reserve LEO position. What's holding me back is that I had a 602, which I pleaded nolo and was subsequently sealed 23 years ago after I met the terms of my probation. The 602 was the result of being drunk and then doing something stupid, which I still regret to this day. In addition, I have been sober since 2001 and this is documented with the FAA as I am a pilot as well. In addition during my college days, I also participated in some Health and Safety Code no no's, but haven't done any drugs since 1985.

I have a a BA in Criminal Justice and have held a management position for the last eleven years. I know they go back and talk to everyone on the BI and my ex-wife who I was married to during the above timed period would tell the the interviewer of my drug use. Before I go through the dog and pony show of applying, could the LEO's chime in here to let me know if I should just forget about it.

Thanks in advance.

SJgunguy24
03-17-2009, 7:49 PM
I thought about doing the same thing. I was told by a high ranking friend "890 hours to play, or 1100 hours to get paid to play"

It's very noble to want to help but as a reserve you don't have all the benefits that a fully sworn officer has.

I had a job lined up with a transfer into a LEO after a couple of years, but I effed that up.

I hope nothing but the best for you, but if you have a family and you get hurt.....you may be on your own.

Eroland7
03-17-2009, 8:05 PM