PDA

View Full Version : Canyon sports in Martinez?

xddueller
03-16-2009, 9:00 PM
Does anybody have an opinion about Canyon Sports in Martinez? I just layed away a handgun there today. While examining my new piece, I noticed that it had a very small amount of wear on the back end of the barrel visible in the slide, as well as a very small amount of wear on the finish just inside the barrell at the muzzle. There was a bit of gun oil on the outside of the slide too, in other words, it just didn't look as spit and polished as the ones in the display case. The gun was shown to me directly from the factory case, and I was assured that this was all normal, as the weapon had been test fired at the factory, then oiled. I'm just not sure what to look for, as I'm still a rookie. I'm not questioning thier integrity either, I'm just wondering if anyone has had a reason not to trust them. Does this gun sound used? I appreciate anyone taking time to comment, thanks!

WokMaster1
03-16-2009, 9:30 PM
This what I always do. record serial number when I buy the gun. Take notes on any "marks" etc. Recheck again when I pick it up after 10 days. You can always take a picture & I have seen a couple of folks do that with their phone cam & the guys there didn't care. You can also call in to the manufacturer & find out if the gun was used but that would be real ballsy for them to switch out a new one for a used one.

till44
03-16-2009, 9:41 PM
I say shop around, they are pretty pricey and they can be tough to deal with. I bought a mag there once, the mag had some obvious problems so I returned it. They didn't want to take it back even though it had never been fired, the follower simply wouldn't come back up after being depressed. Took a lot of talking/convincing. They did take it back in the end but wasn't worth buying it there again.

dexter9659
03-16-2009, 11:14 PM