PDA

View Full Version : Found a Glock, just laying around :-O

sltgunner
03-13-2009, 4:45 PM
Howdy,

I'm doing this thread because I was shopping for a new handgun, and I had an interesting experience right before I was going to purchase. See this thread: http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?p=2021296#post2021296 regarding my purchase choices.

I work in the vacation rental industry, and occasionally I encounter and get to keep "things left behind". Usually it's the half-empty/half-full bottle of tequila, maybe some groceries or very rarely, a tip!

This time, I'm doing my walkthrough of a property, and in one of the walk-in closets I notice a leather day-planner. I take the planner down, and it feels a wee bit heavy. I open it up and lo-and-behold, a Glock 19! Somebody left their CARRY PIECE at a VACATION RENTAL.

Unfortunately for them, I still live in the early 20th century, and am without a cellphone. The housephone is restricted to local only calling, so I can't call the owner of the house. I have no way to contact management to get a hold of this person. So, I offload the Glock (which has a hi-cap magazine), it looked to be 1st generation (no rail, no fingerbumps, etc). I separate the ammo from the hi-cap magazine and put it in a secure place while I do the rest of my cleanup/walkthrough.

In handling the Glock, I unfortunately find it to be a good fit for my hand, which put YET ANOTHER POTENTIAL FIREARM ON MY SHOPPING LIST, FURTHER COMPLICATING MY SHOPPING!

Being the industrious person, I have to go to my second job soon. So I let my partner know that I have this person's gun, and tell them to have the owner of the gun contact me there to pickup their Glock.

After arriving at my second job I get a phone call from my partner. She says a very worried man had arrived at the property about 5 minutes after I left. She gives me a description of him and his vehicle, and I have her route him to me.