PDA

View Full Version : which handgun to get?

theelite127
03-11-2009, 11:50 PM
hi all, i'm new to this, just got my HSC yesterday from Bob @ the Old West Gun Room in El Cerrito!

i have a few questions regarding a good pistol. I want a 45 that shoots acp, since i learned to shoot on my dad's 1911, and we can share ammo.

here are my options:

SA XD45 acp for around $500. my dad swears by SA and he recommends me getting this brand, but he's new to polymer guns.

S&W M&P45 for around $630. Nice gun, changeable backstraps, although a little expensive for my first pistol.

Glock 30 2nd gen. $450. whats there to say but that everyone has/had one.

so which one fellas?

thanks,
Russ

Look Wat I kAn DO !
03-12-2009, 12:29 AM
go try size them up first. See what fits you and what you want out of them.

JDoe
03-12-2009, 7:15 AM
Considering ammo costs are you sure you want a .45? 9 mm is way cheaper.

Greg-Dawg
03-12-2009, 7:30 AM
You'll get some options up to the ying yang. Find a local range that rents and try them out.

Oldnoob
03-12-2009, 9:15 AM
From your pre selection I can tell you are off for a great start. All 3 will be wonderful gun for you. XD is a tap slimmer than others but I personally can't shoot XD well and don't care about the plastic grip safety. S&W M&P are great a bit weird trigger but the ego of grip is awesome and 3 different size back strip are a plus. Glock is my personal pick, though I would try to find sf (short frame) version of it and 3rd gen instead of 2nd. Just personal choice, because I like conversion barrel and some of them only work in 3rd gen frame.

Oldnoob
03-12-2009, 9:18 AM
Uh, just realize you live around Cerrito, there is a indoor range in Brea (OC Indoor) not too far away from you, I believe they have all three guns for rent.

cook2s
03-12-2009, 9:52 AM
Uh, just realize you live around Cerrito, there is a indoor range in Brea (OC Indoor) not too far away from you, I believe they have all three guns for rent.