PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation for handgun courses in greater Los Angeles

awl168
03-09-2009, 7:02 PM
Would be interested in recommendations for handgun courses/training in the greater Los Angeles area by the Calguns community.

I'll be picking up my first handgun (a Walther P22) later this week. Since I'm new to owning a handgun, I thought it would be prudent to learn proper handling, shooting technique, etc. I've done some searching on Google and came up with a list of places, but thought I would ask for recommendations.

Thanks!

H2H
03-09-2009, 7:07 PM
1. ITTS in angeles range http://www.internationaltactical.com/index.asp
2. ADE in burro canyon or LAX firing range http://www.americandefenseenterprises.com/

both are tailored more towards combat handgun/gunfight rather than pure target shooting for points. Try one of their beginners class, you 'll have a blast.

2new
03-09-2009, 7:46 PM
I took the basic handgun 1 and 2 class at Burro Canyon with Greg Block. Well worth the money. I will definitely go back. Looks like he has classes on 3-21-09 and 3-22-09.
http://www.firearmstraining.com/

CaliTheKid
03-09-2009, 7:49 PM
Word of warning about ADE-- I took the course and the firearm safety was not at an acceptable level.

New students were pushed past their limits of safe shooting-- lots of muzzle sweeping etc, the head instructor Bill had other instructors enter shoot rooms and engage in live fire drills with students still in the room just to prove how good his instructors were -- it was hokey, dangerous William Tell type stuff. Just an FYI from my one trip through the school.

NOTARPilot
03-09-2009, 8:59 PM