PDA

View Full Version : Some questions about buying a handgun

dagger10k
03-08-2009, 4:12 PM
I apologize if this has been covered elsewhere, but I am not quite sure about all this.

Here's the deal: I am thinking about purchasing my first handgun, for target practice. I am a college student, and am renting a house along with some friends. Because this is not really a "permanent" residence, I DROSed 2 long guns with my address as my father's house, who lives in a different town. I know I need to provide proof or residence for a handgun. I can get a copy of the lease for the house I'm renting, but I would have to DROS it to that house instead of my father's correct? I have nothing that would suffice as proof or residence for his house, as far as I know. Would that cause any problems?

Another possibility is my father buying it and doing an inter-familial transfer, but that would cost at least $34 extra. Any thoughts?

JJ1911
03-08-2009, 4:28 PM
if you have a lease for your current residence then yes thats the one that should be on the dros. which address is on your drivers lic. or ca id?

halifax
03-08-2009, 4:49 PM
Who is the registered owner on your vehicle title? At what address?

dagger10k
03-08-2009, 5:49 PM
My Driver's license lists my address at my dad's house. My vehicle is owned by my father, at his address.

halifax
03-08-2009, 9:57 PM
My Driver's license lists my address at my dad's house. My vehicle is owned by my father, at his address.

Then go with what JJ1911 said.

dagger10k
03-08-2009, 11:16 PM
Ok, so there won't be any problems even though I DROSed from my father's address before?

One Shot, One Dropped
03-08-2009, 11:50 PM
Well, your two proofs of residence must have the same address. If you must, make a lease agreement for your parents' house and have it notarized...

nick
03-08-2009, 11:57 PM
My Driver's license lists my address at my dad's house.

So your CDL lists your father's house as the address?

dagger10k
03-09-2009, 12:13 AM