PDA

View Full Version : "Beginner" Semi-Auto

quiet-wyatt
03-03-2009, 9:14 AM
OK...

I'm a die-hard revolver guy. I've been shooting revolvers for 35 years... I've only shot a few semi-autos in my life, and even though I shot well with them (1911 .45ACP, Glock 21), I just didn't like them the way I do revolvers. I didn't like them jamming, etc. (I know - once they're broken in, they're great!)

But if I was to get a semi-auto that I could learn how one works and learn how to shoot well with, what would be a good one to start with? And caliber isn't necessarily important - this will not be a home defense gun. Just something to shoot targets, etc...

I fully admit my lack of knowledge of the controls on a semi-auto, what type of ammo they like, etc...

Let's say around $500 budget just to start with...

Thanks in advance,
quiet-wyatt

Black Majik
03-03-2009, 9:19 AM
There really isn't a "beginners" semi auto. It's not like riding a motorcycle, which you have to work you way up, except for heavier calibers, but regarding pistol platforms anything will be fine.

I figure something basic in 9mm, .40 or .45 would be great. It's plentiful (or was... ;) )For $500, there's the Springfield XD, Smith and Wesson M&P, Glock 17/19, or FN FNP. Those three will be polymer framed. You can pick up a Rock Island 1911 in .45 ACP for around $500 as well. A CPO SIG could probably be found in any of the three calibers for slightly more than $500, though searching around and negotiating could probably bring you into high 400s on a used PPT SIG. There's also the CZ75 to consider, for an all metal 9mm/.40

Good luck in your search. Any preference from polymer to metal framed guns? Caliber or action preference?

quiet-wyatt
03-03-2009, 9:33 AM
Black Majik,

No, no preference really for polymer or metal frame.

Caliber - I think 9mm only because of cost - I can shoot more for the same $$$.