PDA

View Full Version : CADOJ: "Notice of no longer in possession" form no longer used

Juno05
02-27-2009, 1:38 AM
Summary: The CADOJ's "notice of no longer in possession" form is no longer used by the agency, a field representative said on Feb. 27, 2009. The form was used too often by lying criminals, the rep. said, so the DOJ took the form off of its Web site.

I have a pistol that I bought legally in California. I am a California resident. I want to sell it to a friend in Washington state. I realize I need to go through a dealer to sell it to him, but does the sale have to START in California, or can I legally transport the weapon up there and sell it to him through a dealer in Washington?

From (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=147498) the (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=149350) threads (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=151464) I've searched, it seems that I have to start in California. But I'd prefer to be sure, and the DOJ's Web site doesn't get that in-depth about the issue in its FAQ.

Thanks for any help offered, Calgunners.

Mssr. Eleganté
02-27-2009, 5:34 AM
Nothing in Federal or California law prevents you from taking the handgun up there yourself and handing it to the transfer FFL. You should check Washington State law, but I doubt there is anything to worry about there.

Juno05
02-27-2009, 8:12 AM
Ah, cool. So I can just head up there and do it that way. Perfect! When I get back to California, however, do I need to fill out any other forms to tell them the gun's not mine?

TRICKSTER
02-27-2009, 8:32 AM
Ah, cool. So I can just head up there and do it that way. Perfect! When I get back to California, however, do I need to fill out any other forms to tell them the gun's not mine?