PDA

View Full Version : If you could only get one handgun...

TJ01
02-22-2009, 7:40 PM
Hi guys, total noob here.

This is my first post. A friend recently introduced me to the wonderful world of firearms, and I've been doing a lot of research the past few months, and I'm getting ready to buy my first gun. Thing is, it will probably be my last so I want to make this purchase count. (anti-gun family, all that good stuff) So far I've shot 9mms and a Glock .45 semi-auto.

Anyway, I was originally deciding between a CZ SP-01 or a Browning Hi-Power. (I haven't shot either.) However, recently, I was intrigued by the Smith & Wesson 627 with the 5" barrel. Aesthetically, I prefer revolvers, and I like the simplicity aspect, and the 8 shots on that model seems nice. I also like that it is more versatile in that you can shoot 2 types of rounds with it. However, I haven't shot a revolver, and I haven't shot a .357 or a .38 special. I have heard that a .357 is probably a better round for HD than the 9mm--assuming you hit your target. Needless to say, I'm conflicted.

I plan on using the gun for range/recreation and home defense, should it ever come to that. I guess the easy answer would be for me to rent a .357 revolver at a range, shoot it, and see if I like it. But until I can find a friend to accompany me to the range, I'll bide my time posting online. ;)

I was wondering what people's thoughts on these are, as well as what the .357 load is like in terms of felt recoil. I've read it is kind of a sharp feeling, so I'm wondering if that will be uncomfortable for range use, or if maybe the heft of the gun will dampen it somewhat. (keep in mind I'm a new shooter :) )