PDA

View Full Version : Odds the Saiga-12 will be listed as a "destructive device?"

pfl101
02-21-2009, 6:53 AM
I'm not an expert on the subject, but I'm concerned that this will come to pass given the "large" magazine (10 rounds in CA; drums in other states). I know the Benelli auto-loader hasn't been listed but would the ability to accept larger quantitites make this gun more prone to listing?

FEDUPWBS
02-21-2009, 6:55 AM
Dupe.

pfl101
02-21-2009, 7:29 AM
A quick search of the terms "Saiga 12 destructive" yielded no answer to this specific question.

I want to hear from people who were around when the Streetsweeper was listed by the BATFE as a destructive device. Perhaps they have information regarding the process leading to that decision that would be of use regarding the Saiga-12.

motorhead
02-21-2009, 8:36 AM
for dd fans, a member has 3 streetsweepers up for sale on the ak files.

ke6guj
02-21-2009, 10:18 AM
here's two threads that I found right away, one from 3 weeks ago.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=150731
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=128705

CCWFacts
02-21-2009, 10:30 AM
I can't tell you how likely or unlikely it is, but...

Under fed. law, anything with a bore > 0.5" is a DD. That includes all 12 ga shotguns of course. However, the Treasury can make a determination that some gun is particularly suitable for sporting use, and, traditionally, all shotguns except a very very few (Street Sweeper or whatever) have been found to be suitable for "sporting use", even guns like "cruiser" shotguns that obviously have no sporting use.

However, if they do declare Saigas to be DDs, in some ways, that's a Win for us.

Stormfeather
02-21-2009, 10:53 AM
for dd fans, a member has 3 streetsweepers up for sale on the ak files.

Doesn't do us any good here in California.

bohoki
02-21-2009, 1:34 PM