PDA

View Full Version : school zone for dummies

JB-Norcal
02-03-2009, 9:32 AM
Any simple info on school zones and how they've been inforced for permit and non-permit carriers (long guns too) ?
I've got pages and pages of stuff, is there any simple black and white precidents?

E Pluribus Unum
02-03-2009, 10:04 AM
Any simple info on school zones and how they've been inforced for permit and non-permit carriers (long guns too) ?
I've got pages and pages of stuff, is there any simple black and white precidents?

No CCW= Any gun, handgun, or longun must be in a locked case if within 1000 feet of a school that teaches K-12 grade.

JB-Norcal
02-03-2009, 11:29 AM
Thanks E -
I'm new to this (CCW in a school zone) and would like to turn over all the rocks easily.
Do you have a link to the exact part of the PC? As I recall it's a little vague(imagine that).
I own the book "How to own a gun(in cali) and not go to jail", and it's just not specific if long guns need to be locked or unloaded. I'm always afraid I'll have to educate a LEO in order to keep things simple.

Liberty1
02-03-2009, 11:32 AM
read

(I cut some of the fat off...)

626.9 (http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=pen&group=00001-01000&file=626-626.11)

626.9. (a) This section shall be known, and may be cited, as the
Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995.

(b) Any person who possesses a firearm in a place that the person
knows, or reasonably should know, is a school zone, as defined in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (e), unless it is with the written
permission of the school district superintendent, his or her
designee, or equivalent school authority, shall be punished as
specified in subdivision (f).

(c) Subdivision (b) does not apply to the possession of a firearm
under any of the following circumstances:

(1) Within a place of residence or place of business or on private
property, if the place of residence, place of business, or private