PDA

View Full Version : has this ever happened to anyone before?

shooter686
02-01-2009, 8:51 PM
I'm at the end of my wits trying to make headway into a glitch I met while trying to buy a handgun (CZ SP01) from a local store in Dublin, CA. :(:(

I am a Permanent legal resident with papers to prove it, have paid my taxes dutifully, don't have even a jaywalking citation to my name, never been accused or charged for anything in court in my 6 years that I have been here..

yet...

after I submitted all my paperwork for a gun purchase, got my Handgun Safety Card and paid for my choice of gun (as well as getiing NRA membership and spending a small fortune on ammunition/accesories)...

I FIND OUT THAT I HAVE BEEN DENIED BY CA-DOJ, Bureau of Firearms ON THE GROUNDS THAT I AM TAGGED BY THE "ICE/US CIS" AS AN ILLEGAL ALIEN AND SCHEDULED FOR DEPORTATION PROCEDURES!!!!! :confused:

So I call up DOJ to confirm this information and set-up an appointment with my local Immigation office to get to the bottom of things....

:thumbsup: Immigration says and confirms that I have a legal personality in the USA and that there is no such information on THEIR COMPUTERIZED INFORMATION DATABASE that says otherwise....and I was hoping that this puts it to rest!

But now, and no matter how I try to explain this to the CA-DOJ they give me the official line that ...:(

"well, we're just going by what the computer tells us when we pull up your profile for a background check....and that I have to go to the NICS/FBI so I can appeal my case"...

So I hop over and start talking to NICS and I've talked to about half a dozen people at that office and everyone gives me a different process to follow so I can make an "appeal"...

And all this has been going on since Dec 27......sigh!!!

My gunstore is no use --- they just point me to the CA DOJ

CA DOJ is likewise no help --- they point their fingers to the NICS/FBI