PDA

View Full Version : "F" stamped BUIS question


bobbyblank
01-31-2009, 4:24 PM
I have an upper on order from del-ton and i just learned they do not send "F" marked BUIS with orders receiving flattop uppers. I think i saw a thread on ar15.com that said you can ask for them to put one on as a special request, but this was a month or so after ordering. While reviewing my order, it said it that it was in processing and past the chance of order changes. I have a 16" midlength flattop on order, and i was wondering if a standard front sight work, or should i keep trying to contact del-ton and see if i can still have and "F" sight put on? What would be a major difference if i ran a standard sight? Should i just order one and install it after my upper is shipped?

Thanks in advance.

Bobby

bobbyblank
01-31-2009, 6:30 PM
anyone?

kermit315
01-31-2009, 9:06 PM
not sure how the search function is working, but I asked a similar question late last year, and got a response from either wes or randall.

I will see if I can dig it up.

ETA: http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=131730&highlight=f+marked+front+sight+base

check out that thread. it was uclaplinker that helped me out.

triaged
01-31-2009, 9:11 PM
http://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?p=146365

J_Rock
01-31-2009, 9:36 PM
http://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?p=146365


A BUIS will never be marked F. Only fixed front sight bases are. The link you posted is talking about F marked fixed front sight bases not a BUIS

kermit315
01-31-2009, 9:46 PM
im pretty sure that the op was meaning the front sight base vice the actual buis, and that it was a typo.

OP, if I am wrong, please correct me.

triaged
01-31-2009, 9:48 PM
From his post it sounded like he was talking about a front sight block and not a BUIS.

bobbyblank
02-01-2009, 7:34 AM
im pretty sure that the op was meaning the front sight base vice the actual buis, and that it was a typo.

OP, if I am wrong, please correct me.

Yes, i was. Sorry about the confusion. I just whipped up a quick post before i hit the yard work, wasnt thinking.

So kermit, were you able to get it sighted in without being adjusted to the extreme one way or another? Just want to make sure the sight post will work if i get stuck with it.

kermit315
02-01-2009, 7:51 AM
well, I have no complaints with mine. I was hitting the 300m gong within the first few boxes of ammo (after playing around with it). It seems to hit anything I aim at. would it be better if it had the F marked fsb, maybe, but right now, I dont notice any problems.

That being said, I am saving for an ACOG, so that will almost eliminate any worry about the FSB. It is a plinking rifle, not a SHTF setup, so I dont worry much anyway.

YMMV