PDA

View Full Version : How many rounds before you replace the barrel?

nikonuser
01-28-2009, 12:09 PM
This quote is from LWRC:

Our barrels can handle 20,000 rounds before replacement, as compared to 6,000-10,000 rounds on a standard M4.

Wow I was surprised to hear that you have to replace the barrel after 6K rounds on an M4. 6K is not a lot of rounds. I remember buying 1K rounds last year and used them all up. At this rate I may need to replace it in 5 years or sooner. Does anyone know how long a STAG barrel last? If I need to replace it how much will it cost to have someone do it since I like to leave this type of work to the real gunsmiths and I guess this will be a good time to have a better barrel too. How much does a good 16 inch match barrel cost and who makes them? Thanks.

YoungGun2
01-28-2009, 12:41 PM
Our barrels can handle 20,000 rounds before replacement, as compared to 6,000-10,000 rounds on a standard M4.

I'm no expert but I thinks that Bull!!! :nuts:

Vacaville
01-28-2009, 12:44 PM
Depends on what ammo you are feeding it and what kind of accuracy you require.

freshdriver
01-28-2009, 12:46 PM
Heat is the #1 killer for barrels if I recall correctly. If you slow fire just at the range, the barrel should last longer.

Seesm
01-28-2009, 12:50 PM
I agree with above poster... HEAT is the killer... Keep the temps down and it WILL last longer for sure. I to think 6k is very little especially in a Zombie situation but then it is just spray and pray right... ?

C.G.
01-28-2009, 1:16 PM
I agree with above poster... HEAT is the killer... Keep the temps down and it WILL last longer for sure.

Where am I going to cook my eggs, though?:D

Omega13device
01-28-2009, 1:33 PM
This quote is from LWRC: