View Full Version : Need help on deciding what rifle to get.

01-27-2009, 5:08 PM
I want to get a bolt action that I can do long range shooting, my budget is in the $400-$700 area. I will also need a scope so I want to include that in the price. What caliber should I get, .223(only cause it's more affordable for me), or .308(because it can reach further distances)? Here's a link to the rifle I'm considering, comes with a nikko-sterling scope. FYI, I'm a total newb with bolt action rifles and precision shooting.

01-27-2009, 5:21 PM
You can still get a Remington 700 in just about any caliber for about $500 and then you can buy a Burris fullfield scope for $200 from natchez,SWFA, etc. If you combine both with taxes, dros, etc, a lil over $700 but then you will have a very descent rifle and a very decent scope. My hunting buddies use the fullfield scopes every year in harsh weather conditions and they work flawless. I have the same combo and love it. Also if you ever want to upgrade your rifle and have more work done to it, the Rem700 is the perfect platform to make into a sniper type rifle! If you call Dustin from Ammo Bros, he can order you a Rem700 in 300 win mag for $519. At least thats the price he told me about 1year ago. Prices on guns have gone up, but not on bolt actions, so dont let anybody trick you.. Really consider burris scopes though, becus they are very durable and alot less $ than the nikon,leupold, etc.

01-27-2009, 5:26 PM
My budget will also have to include dros+tax, i'm a broke student. Yeah a Remington 700 was my first option but I couldn't see myself buying a complete 700 w/ scope in my budget range. I will call ammobros tomorrow and see what kind of deals they have, thanks!

01-27-2009, 5:28 PM
For just a little more you can get the SPS or SPS varmit from the same store.

01-27-2009, 5:35 PM
What do you guys think of this one?

01-27-2009, 5:49 PM