PDA

View Full Version : Staining and finishing AK stock set

SanSacto
01-27-2009, 4:52 PM
So I just got a tracking number from Ironwood Designs, which means I have an unfinished birch laminate 4 piece AK stock set coming my way. Ironwood Designs provides good instructions on how to prepare the wood before staining (http://www.ironwooddesigns.com/1howto.html). What I would like is your suggestions on what color combination to stain my AK stock set.

I ordered RIT liquid clothing dye in four colors: cocoa brown, scarlet, yellow, and tangerine. I would like suggestions on how to combine these colors into the perfect stain for an AK. Would it be a good idea buy a piece of scrap wood at Home Depot to compare my color combinations? Will I be able to find a small sample birch laminate similar to the wood of my AK stock set?

As recommended by Ironwood Designs, I am going to use the Watco exterior oil finish and Howar Feed-N-Wax wood preserver. I have no experience staining or finishing wood, so any tips that aren't included in the Ironwood Designs instructions would be appreciated. Thanks!

mvpatriot
01-27-2009, 4:59 PM
Tagged for interest.
I was going to order a set for my Saiga,I have an old set I want to refinish also.
GL:thumbsup:

Somekindagenius
01-27-2009, 6:27 PM
I don't know what combination of those colors to use but I love russian red stocks.
How long did ironwood take to ship your stock set? I've been considering buying a set.

blackbok
01-27-2009, 7:03 PM
Depends on what scheme you want. Brown with a hint of red? Reddish brown? A bit orange?