PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Precision Rifle?

BaronW
01-27-2009, 1:20 PM
I recently got to try out a Kimber 84M tactical bolt action rifle with a 10x40 super sniper and loved it. I'd like to get into precision rifle shooting but without quite that much buy-in. I'm looking at one of those savage rifles in .308 if I can get the new model with an accutrigger and accustock (11FHN). Anyone ever used one of those? Are there other models I should be considering?

What would you build in .308 if you were a poor college student? :)

Timberwolf
01-27-2009, 1:24 PM
If I was a poor collecge student I'd search the gun rags for a 700P with base rings and a Leupy 3.5-10X40 on it. They can still be had for around 1K - 1.5K complete and its a turn key starter set.

If you can't find one of the old pkgs described above get a Remmy 700SPS, top it with TPS rings and base and a Super Sniper 10X scope. Another set up for around 1K

Overkill
01-27-2009, 1:28 PM
What is your budget for the entire package (scope, rings and base included)? That will help the recommendations start flowing.

stphnman20
01-27-2009, 1:30 PM
Check out Turners. They have a special on a 700P.

BaronW
01-27-2009, 1:54 PM
Let's say I'm -really- cheap and trying to keep it under $650 to start shooting.

That 700P is interesting, but isn't 20" short for a .308? I thought they were usually 24" or so.

x-ricer
01-27-2009, 1:56 PM
you could start with a remington 770 or 710....can be had for $400 or so and come with a scope.

i think they are great starter rifles...

stphnman20
01-27-2009, 1:57 PM
Let's say I'm -really- cheap and trying to keep it under $750 to start shooting.

That 700P is interesting, but isn't 20" short for a .308? I thought they were usually 24" or so.
Depends on what you want to do with it.

Excuse me, it's an SPS tactical. Pretty much the same as the 700P I think.

X-NewYawker
01-27-2009, 2:01 PM
Howa 1500 Axiom package