PDA

View Full Version : New to CalGuns. Few Questions.

Colinruss
01-27-2009, 10:26 AM
I have a couple questions. First is where can I find a site that stocks all of the parts needed to make a complete AR-15 online. I haven't been able to find anything, I just want to see what I might expect to pay and to compare. I have plans to build an AR-15 in the near future.

My other question is about optics. Is it really worth spending 4-600 on an Eotech or the other brands. I remember this same issue came up when I wanted a scope for my bolt action. People said you needed to spend a lot on optics. I got a Nikon Buckmasters for 189$ and it's a great scope.

My final question is about the FLL of a lower. My dad is a police officer so could he just buy it and not have to wait...right? Then he could give it to me, I read something somewhere about how you don't have to do a PPT if it's your parents or grandparents. I saw this http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/archive/index.php/t-20313.html

whatever
01-27-2009, 10:30 AM
RE: optics. What do you intend to do with your AR? If you are heading to battle in an adverse environment, you'll need to get the most rugged (Aimpoint, EOTech, etc). If you are going plinking at the range a few times a year you don't need anything too fancy.

The T-168 scope should be fine or something similar (google it).

Shane916
01-27-2009, 11:22 AM
I have a couple questions. First is where can I find a site that stocks all of the parts needed to make a complete AR-15 online. I haven't been able to find anything, I just want to see what I might expect to pay and to compare. I have plans to build an AR-15 in the near future.

My other question is about optics. Is it really worth spending 4-600 on an Eotech or the other brands. I remember this same issue came up when I wanted a scope for my bolt action. People said you needed to spend a lot on optics. I got a Nikon Buckmasters for 189$ and it's a great scope.