PDA

View Full Version : M14 vs M14 Tanker purchase?

elcadiz
12-18-2008, 9:05 AM
Good Day: Close to pulling the trigger and ordering (and waiting) from probably LRB either an M14 or M14 Tanker (25). I'm a lefty and this will not be for competitive shooting but generally, blasting and fondling.

At my age I will need a scope pretty soon too. Understand the Tanker can have the scope mounts built in. And I'm a lefty which might prove problematic.

Besides the length, and as I'm fairly new to this dance (just purchased my first M1) was wondering your general thoughts of the M14 vs. M15 (25) Tanker?

cadiz

dfletcher
12-18-2008, 9:19 AM
It's not a Tanker, but I have a Scout and shoot left handed, use an ARMS scope mount, no problems. So whatever else, I'd say being left handed will cause no sighting or scope problems.

_Odin_
12-18-2008, 9:20 AM
I was planning on ordering an M14 Tanker from LRB soon also - although with a med-weight DMR contour barrel in 18" and some other upgrades.

Yeah, if you plan on getting a scope than I'd recommend getting your rifle built with the M25 receiver. You shouldn't have any probs with being a lefty - the safety switch is located on the trigger guard, so it's somewhat "ambidexterious" in that sense.

Anyone know what the lead time is for ordering a complete rifle from LRB is currently?

Also, does anyone have any experience with LRB's AR-15 lowers?? I'm thinking of throwing a few of those in with my order. $109 for a lower isn't bad...

Sumo99
12-18-2008, 9:57 AM
The only difference is the length of barrel. You can pretty much customize the gun to the way you want it. Both the 22" and 18" can be had with the integrated scope mount (M25 receiver). If you know you want to scope it, get the M25 receiver. It's cheaper than buying a standard receiver and a separate scope mount.

JWC6
12-18-2008, 10:57 AM