PDA

View Full Version : So I'm joining the Marines.. going to OCS

niterida
12-16-2008, 6:47 PM
I decided over the summer to join the marines, and have been filling out all the paperwork for it over the past 4 months.

I have a bachelors in mechanical engineering and am finishing my masters in ME in march. I leave for OCS in June.

I go to MEPS on Saturday and am just wondering what to expect on saturday?

just was looking for some personal experience from people who have gone through the whole process.

any info is greatly apprieciated

Darklyte27
12-16-2008, 6:55 PM
Congrats on your decision, you choose the best branch!
You will be welcomed with warm smiles, feeling nice and fuzzy inside! :seeya:

Heres the enlisted side of training, oh so joyful and full spirited Drill Instructors. P.S. Be sure to turn up the volume, as its NSFW.
ldRrk0YphiM

enjoy!

The Soup Nazi
12-16-2008, 8:14 PM
Was looking to hit PLC when thinking about going reservist, but will be putting in for a MECEP package once I hit Corporal. I used to work out with the Berkeley OSO, and have a friend who is on the reserve side trying to go PLC in a red patcher unit in South Bay OSO.

They stress that running is pretty important on the officer side of the house, I try to do a good job in keeping up with the male officers during PFTs, but I remember being dusted by some female officers back in the stumps.

MEPS I'm assuming you'll run into the same deal of waking up early in the morning, busing over to MEPS, and doing the infamous "hurry up and wait" routine while trying to get a physical done.

niterida
12-16-2008, 8:31 PM
They stress that running is pretty important on the officer side of the house, I try to do a good job in keeping up with the male officers during PFTs, but I remember being dusted by some female officers back in the stumps.