PDA

View Full Version : New Upper


razorscs
12-15-2008, 5:57 PM
How hard is it to replace the upper only on an ar? I have a A2 upper on the rifle I just bought and want to put a flat top on it. I was looking at the one labeled A3 Flat Top upper receiver (complete) for $159.95. I want to do this mainly so I can mount a Holosight on the flat top. Is that an ok one to use and is it not too hard to do myself?

GMONEY
12-15-2008, 6:03 PM
Get the welding machine, a vice and lots of friends... Not easy.

:43:

Backcountry
12-15-2008, 6:11 PM
With the right tools, 5-10 minutes. With the wrong tools, or if you are an idiot, you'll need to buy a new one.

razorscs
12-15-2008, 6:13 PM
ok sorry guys but that just confused me, didn't help all that much lol

razorscs
12-15-2008, 6:19 PM
Ok well I wanted to do it to mount a holosight for increased accuracy to get the scope lower. Would this be a good substitute? It looks cool but the field of view would kinda suck wouldn't it? http://vtsupply.com/midwest-industries-a2-adjustable-cantilever-m16-ar15-mount-p-69.html

Overkill
12-15-2008, 6:28 PM
You can buy a stripped DSA A3 upper from the equipment exchange on AR15.com for something like $60. Add $15 for the parts needed to complete the upper receiver.

With the right tools, the rest of the parts switch should not take long, and is not complicated at all.

razorscs
12-15-2008, 6:29 PM
what are the right tools?

Backcountry
12-15-2008, 6:31 PM
what are the right tools?

Seach-fu... try it.

aplinker
12-15-2008, 6:46 PM
what are the right tools?

Action block (DPMS is a good one), a vise (big enough to hold the block), armorer's wrench, moly grease, cheater bar, punches and hammer.

razorscs
12-15-2008, 7:07 PM
is the a2 rail mount system an ok product. It seems so much easier/cheaper to do for now

razorscs
12-15-2008, 8:01 PM
anyone?

Vinz
12-15-2008, 8:16 PM
anyone? yep, and alot cheaper too.



vinz

razorscs
12-15-2008, 8:23 PM
yep, and alot cheaper too.



vinz

so it would work just fine?

aplinker
12-16-2008, 12:01 AM
so it would work just fine?

Not really. Even the best of them don't hold zero perfectly. You can bed them to improve it, though.

The cost of the one linked is on par with replacing the upper. A local gunsmith should be able to swap everything for less than the tools cost.