PDA

View Full Version : How accurate is everyone with their pistols??

bin31z
12-07-2008, 12:08 PM
Hey guys, I have a USP .45 and I just started shooting about 2 years ago. I was wondering how accurate you guys were with your pistols and what is average. I went to the range yesterday and taking about 5-6 seconds per shot I can get all my shots within a 6 inch diameter circle at 25 yards with a couple of fliers. How well do you guys do with your respective pistols (1911, Sig, Glock, etc.)?

BamBam-31
12-07-2008, 12:20 PM
I think this thread should be in the regular Handguns section, not the Gallery.

Anyways, I can get hit the 100 yd. steel gong at Angeles Shooting Range (approx. 14" in diameter) 90-100% of the time with my G17, CZ SP-01, and Sig X5 Comp.

Since this the Gallery, here's a pic of the steel at ASR. (The one I'm talking about is the second one from the left, next to the ram, all the way back.)

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d194/RChang824/HORSEMotivationPoster2.jpg

Vacaville
12-07-2008, 12:47 PM
I've never given much thought to measurement or how others are doing. My focus is on my own stance, grip, sight picture, and trigger control; and I do the best I can with the gun in my hand. It's kind of like bowling or golf, I just keep trying to do better than I've done previously, and that is my reward.

That said, a lot of accuracy depends on which gun I'm using. I have a single-action Ruger Blackhawk with which I can probably shoot 4" groups at 25 yards. But it's got a trigger pull of maybe 3 lbs. I can shoot 6" groups at 15 yards and be doing great with my Taurus 85. The Taurus has fixed sights, little Ladysmith-type grips, and a 2 1/2" barrel (it's real purty). Not the type of gun you'd expect to shoot tiny groups with - but that's not the purpose of a snubbie, is it?