PDA

View Full Version : Kimber warrior mags bad?

Mississippi
11-17-2008, 12:53 PM
I bought a Kimber Warrior and it came with one eight round mag. So I picked up two more of the same factory kimber mags.

I went to the range and shot 170 rounds. I had so many failure to feeds that it made me sick that I spent 1295 bucks on a pistol!

I changed Kimbers 16 pound recoil spring out to a wolf 18 pound spring and I trashed my factory Kimber mags. Replaced them with Wilson Combat 47D.

Are Kimber mags really bad? Could I have another problem? I havent had a chance to go back to the range after the changes.

Thanks for the help. I'm a Kimber 1911 newbie!

p7m8jg
11-17-2008, 1:03 PM
Until you shoot probably 300-500 rounds through the gun, you might have issues.

I've got about 500 through mine. With extra power springs in an 8 round mag, it sometimes fails to feed the first round when I reload and don't "slingshot" the slide, but just drop it with the slide release.

Relax. Kimbers are good. SHoot it. Shoot it again. Clean it, Shoot it again.

Lather, rinse, repeat.....

after several hundred rounds, then start worrying about the mags...

IMHO

Mississippi
11-17-2008, 2:38 PM
Thanks for the help. I just need to shoot it more. Thats a good problem.

360PA
11-18-2008, 11:09 PM
I only have 300 rounds through my Warrior and it fires flawlessly with CMC Powermags. I don't use the Kimber mag it came with as the guy I bought my Warrior from said it caused the gun to malfunction.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v314/bkpcom/KimberWarrior.jpg

WRENCHHEAD
11-19-2008, 8:55 PM
i've had the same problems with my 8rd kimber mags. feed problems in all 3 of my 1911's. warrior, trp, and customII. i use metalforms normally and theres no problem.

dexter9659
11-19-2008, 8:58 PM
I do not use the factory mags that came with my kimber. Instead, at the advice given by the many knowledgeable Calgunners, I use nothing but Wilson 47D mags.

icoburn
11-19-2008, 9:00 PM