PDA

View Full Version : Inheriting Firearms... General CA Law

4VVonder
11-11-2008, 10:59 AM
Hello Everyone,
First off, I am a newer gun owner under the age of 30. I am a california resident. I have a shotgun and a pistol both registered in my name.

Recently my great uncle just passed away. His wife (my step-great aunt is still alive) and the gun collection has been legally willed to me. However, still being stored in Wyoming (where they live).

There are quite a few guns. None of which are automatics, but some fall under the CA Assault weapon act. AR-15s, Semi-Auto AK, etc.. Is there anyway I can bring them into this state? Can I apply for some special permit? If they were acquired by him before the act passed are they pre-ban or does it not matter since they were never in CA?

Any advice on the matter would be much appreciated. Including lawyer contact info.

Thanks!

Fire in the Hole
11-11-2008, 11:33 AM
The first thing I would do if I were you, would be to go to a gun store, not a sporting goods store that carries guns, and buy the book "How to Own a Gun in California and Stay out of Jail" All the answers to your questions can be found in there, plus lots more.

Backcountry
11-11-2008, 11:48 AM
I have a shotgun and a pistol both registered in my name.
No you don't. Long guns are not registered in California unless classified as assault weapons.

4VVonder
11-11-2008, 11:51 AM
fire in the hole... thank you very much. The more i research, the more it looks as if the guns will be staying in Wyoming.

I'm heading to my local gun store to pick up a copy right now. Thanks Again...

4VVonder
11-11-2008, 11:53 AM
maybe i misunderstood, both shotgun and pistol were gifted. I signed a bunch of stuff from a trusted person and didn't read much. Maybe I only registered the pistol.