PDA

View Full Version : Wind direction.

CavTrooper
11-10-2008, 8:41 AM
Tenpercent said something in another thread that id like to run through with yall. This is all theory, since Im no expert and just when you think you know something about coyotes, they throw you a curve ball.

Now, I hear often, people say that its most effective to call INTO the wind, why they say this I have yet to figure out or have it explained to me so if someone would, please do. When I setup to call, I either go crosswind or with the wind at my back, calling WITH the wind. The reason is this, coyotes tend to circle downwind to get a better sniff of the situation. Calling INTO the wind (IMHO) is turning your back on the most likely avenue of approach. When you call WITH the wind (wind at your back) and have a decent view of the area around you, you have better control over your scent cone and have more opportunity to put the coyote down before he catches a whiff.

Anyhow, this is all opinion and theory from my limited experience. One thing I know for sure is that youll never figure out coyotes 100%, just when you think you got it figured out, they do something totally different. Just keep plugging away and having a good time doing it!

Sydwaiz
11-10-2008, 9:52 AM
Cav, what do you think about cover scents? I use them as does another very experienced coyote hunter I know. Seems to me that if you use them, you wouldn't have to worry about the wind so much.

Fjold
11-10-2008, 9:59 AM
I generally call into or across the wind. With an electronic caller using a remote, I try to set up calling into the wind but position myself within 30 degrees of perfectly downwind of the caller as I can get and still work the remote.