PDA

View Full Version : Question about long guns

laeuchli
11-09-2008, 10:01 PM
Dear All,
I am a currently a California resident. However my parents live in AZ and I go visit them often. My question, is it legal for me, a resident of CA, to go to AZ, and buy a rifle, which will not be legal in CA, and keep it in AZ for when I come to visit? I guess there would be three sets of laws at work, CA law, AZ law and federal law. What does CA and Federal law say on this? I guess its a long shot that someone would know here, but does anyone know what AZ law says?

Thanks

p7m8jg
11-09-2008, 10:05 PM
If you never "possess" it in Kalifornia, then California law can't apply. You don't violate the Kalifornia laws by being in Arizona and following Arizona law. I rented and fired a fully-automatic Thompson machine gun while visiting Arizona. Didn't violate any laws in California.....

Josh3239
11-09-2008, 10:08 PM
Even better you can get a B15 lock. When you come into CA, turn the screw and you have a California legal AR15. Turn the screw the other way in AZ and you can drop mags.

The only law you need to play ball with is Roberti-Roos/Kasler, which is no big deal. 99% of the lowers on the market today are the same, get yourself an offlist one.

laeuchli
11-09-2008, 10:14 PM
Is there a law about recieving a rifle in a state in which you are not a resident? I'm pretty sure there such a law with pistols.

ke6guj
11-09-2008, 10:21 PM
A CA-resident can't purchase a rifle while in another state. Other states allow their residents to purchase rifles from out-of-state dealers, but CA does not.

It does not matter if you leave it in AZ or not, Fed law only allows for the purchase to happen if it complies with the laws of both states.

laeuchli
11-09-2008, 10:24 PM
Ah ok thanks for the information ke6guj. I'm not surprised that has yet another retarded law :(.

motorhead
11-10-2008, 10:07 AM