PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Calif., have questions

Dr. Strangelove
11-07-2008, 6:50 PM
Hi everyone, I am a college student in Tucson, Ariz. and I'll be graduating soon. I'm going to be moving to Calif. after I graduate, and I have a few questions about gun ownership over there.

I sold my AK recently to buy a gun I thought was legal for Calif. It's a S&W M&P 45. I chose the gun because it shows on the state list of OK guns, has a 10 round magazine, and fit my hand better than anything I have shot. I took it out to the range the next day and loved it. The gun was everything I wanted in a pistol, and pointed so naturally for me.

Well I started doing some more research on Calif. gun laws, I know I can take my new pistol to Calif. as long as I get it registered within 60 days of my arrival. I also know I am probably going to have to take a class on handgun safety. I am fine with all of this, it's a small price to pay for being a legal citizen.

Then I saw that all guns for Calif. need to have the magazine disconnect safety. This is an option on the M&P and one mine does not have. Is this going to be an issue for taking it across the state line? I understand there is a way for guns that are passed from parents to children to get past some of the rules. Is this a possible route I can take?

I just bought the gun, and bought it for the sole purpose of bringing it with me on the move. I am kicking myself for not doing more research before I bought it, but this is the first I've herd about the mag safety law. I bought it new, and can't really afford to buy another one and sell the one I have. Please tell me there is a way to make this work.

Thanks for your advice.

-Mark

sorensen440
11-07-2008, 6:56 PM
Hi everyone, I am a college student in Tucson, Ariz. and I'll be graduating soon. I'm going to be moving to Calif. after I graduate, and I have a few questions about gun ownership over there.