PDA

View Full Version : Gun Safes And Search Warrants...

sfwdiy
11-07-2008, 2:38 PM
I just got finished reading the general discussion thread here (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=130281) about a guy who had an OLL taken from his safe. There was some discussion about whether or not one can refuse to open a safe if it's not specifically listed on a search warrant, but there was no definitive answer. Obviously the safe is out of bounds if the police are looking for something that wouldn't fit in there to begin with. I would think the cops couldn't make someone give them the combination as this would be in violation of the right to remain silent as well as the right not to incriminate one's self. Is there any consensus on this? Existing caselaw?

--Ben

The SoCal Gunner
11-07-2008, 2:45 PM
I'm no expert but from the readings I've done in a criminal procedure and processes class, the search has to be within the scope of the search warrant and most likely the search warrant would define where and what can be searched and what property is to be seized. If looking for weapons I don't see why they wouldn't be allowed to search a locked safe just as they are able to open a closed container which may have weapons in them.

If a search warrant is to be executed on you it would be best to ask the officer executing the warrant to present a copy to you at the time of the search so you can see what can be searched and what they are looking for.

Evidence can't be testimonial so that would not violate your 5th Amendment rights.

Sundowner
11-07-2008, 3:00 PM