PDA

View Full Version : Next build

Slugo
11-05-2008, 6:10 PM
First off, I just want to thank the CGN community for their wealth of information. After hanging around for over a year, I finally caught the black rifle disease. There were so many options available to me for an AR platform, I decided to go with a KISS setup. However, I want to start another build, but the possibilities seem endless. As of right now I have the following options lined up:

1. AR with flattop setup and throw optics on the rifle
2. AR setup and use a gas piston upper
3. AR setup and use a gas piston retrofit
4. Buy a Sig 556
5. Forget another rifle and buy more ammo

Since I am still quite new to all of this, any and all opinions and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Slugo

aplinker
11-05-2008, 7:37 PM
Here's how I'd do it if I were you...

At this point, as much as I am a huge AR guy, I'd add an AK to my safe. A Lancaster or a certified Henderson WASR... something simple, but effective. A Saiga is also a good choice. They're under $600 for a whole rifle.

After that, I'd add a couple lowers, just to stow them away, then add the upper as $ became available. I'd be buying ammo, as well - at least 2x the amount I shoot per year.

Between ammo, an AK and a pair of lowers, you're probably up to the amount you'd spend on another AR, but you're still in good shape for whatever you want to do and can save for the next upper.

My 2 cents...

nobs11
11-05-2008, 8:21 PM
At this point, as much as I am a huge AR guy, I'd add an AK to my safe. A Lancaster or a certified Henderson WASR... something simple, but effective. A Saiga is also a good choice. They're under $600 for a whole rifle.

Huh? Is that uclaplinker? Have you been drinking? :p

Option 1 + 5. But wait a few weeks/months before the madness dies down.

devildog999
11-05-2008, 8:44 PM