PDA

View Full Version : Lee Precision Classic Turret Press

zapatito92
01-26-2017, 8:21 AM
i have been looking at a number of presses to start reloading on, and think i have made my decision. The Lee Precision Classic Turret Press seems like the right choice for all my needs. i have read the reviews and they are mostly positive. i plan on eventually reloading 9mm, 40sw, 45acp, 300 blk, 223, 762x39, and 308

keep in mind i am a beginner and will probably end up swapping out some parts or upgrading the scale but i just want something to learn on.

i was curious if any other calgunners had experience with this? would u buy again or try something else out ?

https://www.amazon.com/Lee-Precision-Classic-Turret-Press/dp/B008M5TSCG/ref=sr_1_5?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1485446591&sr=1-5&keywords=reloading+kit

drkphibr
01-26-2017, 8:41 AM
The LCT was my first and still my favorite all around press (and I have more than a few). Built like a tank, easy to use, EXTREMELY economical when considering not only the cost of the press itself, but the low cost of caliber changes, run in index or single stage mode and Lee stands behind their product with excellent (my own experience) customer service. Love the small footprint it takes on the bench for what it can do.

A couple of heads up.

Buy extra square ratchets (part number TF3567) as this part is meant to wear out and when it does, your indexing rod will no longer index the turret. It's a plastic component and can be found online for about $.25 cents or so. The trick to making this piece last for many thousands of rounds is to only remove the turret full of dies when the ram is up (handle all the way down) so there is no pressure on the part. Also, never force the turret to turn (forwards or backwards) by hand as that will force index rod wear against the softer plastic of the square ratchet.