PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE help me: need basic SAN FRANCISCO gun laws

thefinger
11-02-2008, 10:04 PM
Hi guys, I need a little help here. I'm a long time Sacramento resident, so I'm not up-to-date on the ever-changing SF gun laws. My girlfriend is living in SF, and I'd like to help her get a gun. Some threats have been made towards her family, and she really wants a firearm of some sort to keep her safe when at home.

I need to know the basic gun laws for San Francisco residents. What can/can't you keep in your home if you live in SF?

1) Can you possess a handgun in your home?
2) Can you possess a shotgun/rifle in your home?
3) If you can keep a firearm in your home, must it be locked?
4) If you keep a firearm in your home, can it be stored loaded?

Thanks for the help.

-finger

csmintel
11-02-2008, 10:12 PM
1. yes
2.yes
3.yes
4.yes

rrr70
11-02-2008, 10:33 PM
1) yes
2) yes
3) no (long guns only, hand gun have to be locked)
4) yes (long guns, not handgun)

But, what they don't know, shouldn't bother them.:D

And, don't buy guns or ammo in the city. From what I've been told, dealer have to report it to police. Sucks, I know.:mad:

Librarian
11-02-2008, 11:41 PM
Read this thread (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=128982); Cliff Notes: Voters passed Proposition H in 2005 which would have affected the (1) you mention. It was challenged in court, lost and never took effect; appealed and lost again.

Police code (http://www.municode.com/Resources/ClientCode_List.asp?cn=San+Francisco&sid=5&cid=4201) does say handguns must be locked: SEC. 4512. HANDGUNS LOCATED IN A RESIDENCE TO BE KEPT IN A LOCKED CONTAINER OR DISABLED WITH A TRIGGER LOCK.

(a) Prohibition. No person shall keep a handgun within a residence owned or controlled by that person unless the handgun is stored in a locked container or disabled with a trigger lock that has been approved by the California Department of Justice.