PDA

View Full Version : Exasperation, OAL and the Hornady LNL progressive.

wbunning
12-11-2016, 5:41 PM
So I've been using this Hornady LNL progressive press for a couple of years now. Overall, it's been "OK". Not superior, but OK. Loading only pistol calibers so far. Some folk have expressed issues with the priming system, but that system on mine has been rock solid in that respect.

My problem has been in variance the cartridge overall length. One day, after getting all the dies tuned in to where I thought I wanted them, I started micing each finished round. Jeebus! I was getting OAL variation of +/- 0.004. I tinkered and tinkered, labeled the shell plates and recorded OAL for each, replaced the shell plate hub that WAS worn, etc. I can't get my finger on why there is so much difference.

The variance is exacerbated by running only one case through the system at a time, as compared to having a full shell plate. Best idea I can come up with is that at the top of the stroke, the ram may have enough play in it to induce a little wobble at the seating die station. BTW, the station location of the seating die seems irrelevant.

For plinking ammo, it's not a huge deal, but I'd sure like to think the press was a little more precise.

Anyone else noticed this? Ideas?

Thanks, gang. Rant over.

Michael in California
12-11-2016, 5:49 PM
Do you think 0.004 matters? Measure some production rounds.

baih777
12-11-2016, 6:12 PM
Do you have the Hornaday bullet comparator.? The variance could be the bullets.

wbunning
12-11-2016, 6:27 PM
Do you think 0.004 matters? Measure some production rounds.

It doesn't matter much at 7-10 meters, but at 25 it seems to. It can ammount to nearly .01" in OAL from the shortest to longest, and the difference in pressure looks like it measurably effects muzxle velocity. When I load on the single stage and closely monitor powder charge and OAL, I get less ES and lower SD on the chrono.

Anyway.. I get your point, Michael. Thanks for the input :)