PDA

View Full Version : First squib reload--.38sp

Dougbert66
12-11-2016, 5:04 PM
Just got into reloading recently and am still trying to find a good load for .38sp using 125g Berry's plated FN bullets. Back in April I did a ladder with AutoComp, but resulted in low pressure and a lot of fouling on cases and the gun. In May I got some Titegroup and did another ladder. Found a load that was OK, but still pretty weak compared to some 130g Federal FMJ which I'm trying to approximate.

Anyway, after changing jobs and losing a lot of free time I finally got back to it and with some additional powder types I acquired I loaded two more ladders--one with Unique and one with Win231. I shot them last weekend in ~50 degree temps. The upper end of the Unique ladder was pretty good, but still seemed a bit weak compared to the Federal stuff. Up to now, I had no operating problems with any of these powders. So I started shooting the Win213 ladder next.

Specs: Federal brass, S&B SP primers, Berry's 125g plated FN, 1.451" COAL

This is the same (except for slight COAL diff) as my other tests with Autocomp and Titegroup.

I threw each charge low using my Lee imperfect powder measure and trickled up carefully on my my Redding No.2 scale. I was careful to check each case before seating a bullet. I checked at least every other round for OAL.

I had five rounds at each rung with 3.8g, 4.0, 4.3, 4.6, and 4.8 based on Lee data for 125g lead bullet. For a Hornady XTP and Win231 I have data showing 4.3-4.9g, so I figured my ladder was safe for copper plated. Wrong.