PDA

View Full Version : Turkey Hunting - where to begin?

DonnaBrazillee
10-02-2008, 8:41 PM
Hi. I'm a complete newbie but always wanted to kill the Thanksgiving turkey. :) Where does a noob begin? Any good places to learn in S. Cal?

gibbygoo
10-04-2008, 7:26 PM
http://dfg.ca.gov/wildlife/hunting/uplandgame/docs/turkeyguide05.pdf

Choptop
10-06-2008, 4:58 PM
Consider joining the National Wild Turkey Federation.
http://www.nwtf.org/

or perhaps go to a meeting of your local chapter... I'm sure someone there would be willing to show you the ropes.

note.. wild turkey is very different eating than your store bought bird. The birds I get are best just brested out. The rest of the meat is too tough.

yellowfin
10-07-2008, 7:10 PM
Top things for a new turkey hunter to learn:

1. Practice sitting still. Sit down on the floor with knees up and put a quarter on each kneecap, elbow, shoulder, and top of your head. Watch the second hand on a clock tick by five minutes, then ten, then twelve without any of them dropping. That is how still and how patient you must learn how to be--and it doesn't come natural.

2. Learn how to call well but minimally. A 20 pound tasty bird doesn't bang out racket nonstop like the TV shows and company ads would have you believe or know it all twerps in the shop and paid calling contest competitors try to beat into you. He'd be lunch for a couple dozen coyotes in 5 minutes if he did. 5 or 6 notes once or 2 or 3 twice every five minutes tops, most likely 12 to 20 minutes. Turkeys are sneaky critters. They have to be. They can respond 5 minutes (which if you've observed #1 you'll know that's darn near eternity...and if you haven't observed #1, don't even bother attempting turkey hunting in the first place) after you called, or not at all but are still moving towards you. Or they can be reacting to nothing.