PDA

View Full Version : 2 noob questions

dboy4ever
09-29-2008, 9:12 PM
Hi guys. I've been reading the board a lot lately, trying to build my own AR. I did a lot of homework, but can't seem to find the answers to 2 questions:

1). I plan to use the BB compliance. When I buy a lower from out-of-state, will an FFL allow the transfer, even when the lower doesn't have BB installed yet?

2). Only stripped lowers or anything that has a stripped lower as a part have to be transfered through FFL, coorect?

Thank you.

hawk84
09-29-2008, 9:19 PM
Im no expert but as to #1

What I would see if you could do is get the lower without the pistol grip/telescoping stock. It would still have a detachable magazine, but without a pistol grip/telescoping stock, it has no "evil" features it is not an "assualt rifle"

You could then install the BB, and go buy a pistol grip, I know they are available for about 5 bucks

as for 2
I believe the lower reciever is all that requires an FFL- once again, not an expert

Saigon1965
09-29-2008, 9:21 PM
1. Yes
2. Yes, reciever.
3. Buy more parts, build rifle, have fun.

dboy4ever
09-29-2008, 9:24 PM
thank you guys. that was very helpful

Bimmer2
09-29-2008, 9:32 PM
1. Maybe.

Yes, because an FFL can receive a lower without a bullet button, legally.

No, because there are a LOT of FFLs who won't deal with OLLs, period.

Just make sure you ask the FFL first.

2. Yes.

Ben

dboy4ever
09-29-2008, 9:41 PM
1. Maybe.

Yes, because an FFL can receive a lower without a bullet button, legally.

No, because there are a LOT of FFLs who won't deal with OLLs, period.

Just make sure you ask the FFL first.

2. Yes.

Ben

But if the FFL is willing to deal with OLLs, I should make sure the lower he transfers has no pistol grip or collapsible stock, right?

Bimmer2
09-29-2008, 9:58 PM
But if the FFL is willing to deal with OLLs, I should make sure the lower he transfers has no pistol grip or collapsible stock, right?