PDA

View Full Version : Getting Ready to Build My AR-15!

Mark One
09-23-2008, 7:10 PM
Hello everyone,

Well I have decided to build a AR-15 style rifle rather than buying a M1A. I figured it would be a little easier and allow for more fun down the road.

Anyways I am completely new at this and would appreciate some help. right now the only think I know I am getting is the B15 bullet button. Other than that I do not know what lower or what upper I want.

So my first question:

Where should I look to pick up a good Lower? I am not looking to go cheap but not willing to blow the bank. I have a $1200 limit on this project for right now but am also planning to spread it out over a couple months so I may be willing to go higher if need be.

Second, what lowers would you recommend? I have done a quick search throughout the forums but cant find anything that suggest lowers or uppers or even a topic that took someone step by step. (I am sure it is out there, I just cant find it).

Third, besides a Lower, Upper, and Lower Parts what else do I need to have a accurate and functioning AR-15?

Thank you guys and if you know if any older post please post them here. I am like a sponge right now.

USN CHIEF
09-23-2008, 7:16 PM
Talk to Addax Tactical or Ten Percent Firearms. They have everything you need and they will ensure that you only get the parts that you need.

http://www.calguns.net/OLL/assembly.html

jksupplyco
09-23-2008, 7:21 PM
Where are you located? You'll have to find a local shop to either transfer a lower you buy online, or purchase one from a stocking dealer. Your location will aid subsequent responses in directing you to the right place.

Josh3239
09-23-2008, 7:21 PM
Mark,